top of page
  • Writer's pictureKulAdventures

Volvo S60 R Oil Catch Can Install

Updated: Feb 17

In order to deal with what seemed like more than normal oil in my intake, turbo, and inter-cooler I decided to install an oil catch can. I have recently replaced all the components of the PCV system and it is functioning correctly (passes the glove test).


Oil visible in intake:


Parts Needed:

-Hoses and Hose Clamps (1/2" ID Clear Hose I used)


Parts Needed for Catch Can Drain:


To install it, just remove the PCV line where it connects to the intake (right before the turbo, it is attached to a heater that goes into the intake). Add 1/2" line from where the PCV line previously connected to the intake utilizing the 1/2 to 1/2 barb. Run that line and connect it to the catch can. Add another line from the catch can to the intake right before the turbo (electric heater is where it connects). My Volvo has a Snabb intake, but the heated fitting where the PCV system feeds into the intake is the same with stock and the Snabb intake.


By doing it this way, in line with the existing PCV lines, you don't have to remove/delete any of the stock PCV parts. I also placed it in an easy-to-get to location in order to empty the catch can. I used clear hosing to keep an eye on oil flow in the lines, however a more oil resistant line would be preferred.



Another shot of its mounting location:





If you are debating this and looking for more info on installing an oil catch can there is a lot of good info on the SweedSpeed Forum under these two posts:




Update (Spring-2019) My oil catch can was filling up with liquid (presumable water) at a higher-than-expected rate, which has cause me to have to empty it. My guess is that it is condensation in the line and is mixing slightly with oil in the catch can:



Either way the Volvo is running so much better without this going into the intake! However, I may need to setup a drain system if this is a normal thing. I am still trying to figure out the cause of the liquid.


UPDATE (SEP-2019): After dealing with above liquid issue, I added a drain with a one-way valve (to prevent it from sucking un-metered air in). After about a year I opened it up to check out what was in there and all it had was an oily film and no more water. Seems like it is doing a pretty good job of keeping that stuff out of my turbo. Here is what it looked like:



Very happy with its performance and would highly recommend to anyone debating doing it!


UPDATE: (March 2023): Oil catch can is still performing well with no issues


4,120 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page