top of page
  • Writer's pictureKulAdventures

Givi Monorack Top Box Install on 2014 Honda VFR800

After renting a motorcycle a few times and using the Givi Trekker Outback Top Box I had to get one. Its huge, but not many boxes fit two helmets. As I ride with a passenger a lot this is important. I also commute on my bike to work and having the extra storage means I don't need a backpack.


I recently switched from a 2006 BMW F650GS to a 2014 Honda VFR800 and wanted to bring the Givi Trekker over, which required a whole new rack. I did like that this rack comes with new complete handles that are much better than the stock VFR800 ones.


Parts Needed:


Tools Needed:

-Metal cutting tools.... This should not be needed, but it was...



First step is removing the stock handles from the bike. This is done by removing the rear seat and unbolting the two 12mm bolts. Make sure to remove the alley key bolt holding the rear fairings to the handle, keep that bolt and nut for the new installation.



Next, install the handles onto the side rails. This is much easier to do with the rack off the bike. Once the handles are on, install the rack onto the bike, making sure to place the new bracket for the fairing under one of the 12mm bolts. Do not tighten down till the very end and alignment is checked.






Repeat the process with the other side.



The next step is connecting the top plate to the rack, but this is where I ran into issues.


The top plate had a bolt and nut exposed on the top that would not allow the plate to lay flat. This appears to be a defect from Givi as the rack should have a gap for the bolt and nut to pass through.



To solve this, I made a gap. I used a metal cutting tool then painted it afterwards. I also found that the rubber pad also came in contact with the plate, not allowing it to lay flat... So that also needed a hole cut.



Really bummed that Givi messed this up, but my solution seemed to work.


Now just tighten the four bolts down on the rear plate, making sure the rack is centered on the bike and in the right position. Once it is in the right position, tightened down the 12mm bolts and attach the fairing.



Good to go!


Once the bike is up and running, I will upload some more pictures of it with the large case on the bike. This rack is only rated for 6kg so I will have to be careful with how much I put in the case.



3 views0 comments
bottom of page