top of page
  • Writer's pictureKulAdventures

Heated Handgrips on a 2014 Honda VFR800 Interceptor

I love heated handgrips and my 2014 Honda VFR800 did not come with them (standard model). So, one of the first things I did was purchase and install them. Was easier than I expected, but that was due to going with the Oxford grips, very easy to connect everything up.


I would also suggest that if you plan to run any other electronics to the front of the bike, a USB outlet in my case, that you do it during this install.


Supplies Needed:

-USB outlet (if installing)


Tools Needed:

-Sandpaper or Dremel (to grind down plastic)

-Zip Ties (kit includes some, but I use a lot)


Suggested Tools:


First thing to do is to remove the old grips. I used my air gun and blew air under the grips and was able to pull the clutch side off. For the brake side I had to cut the grip as there is plastic tabs on the VFR800 that hold it in place.


Once off, I ground down all the plastic tabs on the throttle tube to make it smooth enough to fit the new grip on. Clean off all the old adhesive with goo-gone or similar. Make sure the handlebars are clean.


Very important is to test the grips on and mark the position you want them at. Make sure to test the brake and clutch pull and make sure the wire does not interfere. Make a mark as to there the wire will go, because once the glue is on there is not much time or ability to adjust them.


Next put glue on the handlebars and throttle tube, being careful not to let it drip on the bike. The glue is very liquidy. I actually taped my fairings with painters' tape to make sure. Once the glue is on push the grip all the way on and align it with your marks. The glue will dry very fast.



Next, remove the clutch perch bolts and using the bolts that come with the grips and the spacers install the controller.



Now onto the cable routing. I fed the three cables (controller, left and right grips) through the middle of the fork and behind the left shock. There is an open space behind the fairings on the left side outside of the frame that I used to make all the connections.



Then run the power cable to the battery. I ran it inside the frame, under the gas tank. Use ample zip-ties to keep the wires from rubbing anything.


Lastly connect the wires to the battery. The grips I bought came with an inline fuse. If the grips you buy do not, make sure to install an inline fuse in the event a wire gets cut or stripped.



Last thing to do it test it! Mine heated up very quickly before the battery saver mode kicked in, which is good to know as my bike was off. The oxford grips come with a controller that turns off the grips if the battery voltage is 11.5v or less for over 5 seconds, in the event you forget to turn them off.

4 views0 comments
bottom of page