top of page
  • Writer's pictureKulAdventures

S60R Exhaust/Muffler Upgrade

Updated: Mar 1, 2021

When I bought my 2004 Volvo S60R it was straight piped the whole way. No resonator, not muffler... Which was way to loud for me and reverberated within the cabin.





I didn't want to change to much, just quit it a bit. After doing a lot of research and watching other people compare exhaust (IPD vs Borla vs everything else). I decided on a Borla XR-1 Muffler and no resonator.


I took it to a local cheap shop and they installed it where the stock muffler would go (I didn't have one). Being that it was a cheap muffler shop they did not have the best bends and there were a few tight corners I wasn't happy with, but it was cheap and worked considering how big the muffler was.






Once we fired it up both the muffler guys and I were shocked. They doubted that just installing a muffler, and not a resonator, would quite it down. But it really did. I love the sound of it now and don't see any need for a resonator. Ill be making a video of what it sounds like now soon.

382 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page