top of page
  • Writer's pictureKulAdventures

2006 Honda CRF250X Trail Riding Setup

Updated: Feb 18

After my attempts at making my 2004 Honda CRF250R a trail bike (as seen here) and riding it at Brown Mountain (NC) and Hatfield McCoy Trails (WV) I decided to call it quits and just get a CRF250X based simply on the transmission and suspension differences which would have cost me too much to change. Also knowing that most of my parts could transfer over to my X I decided to make the switch.


I purchased a 2006 Honda CRF250X and began its build up for trail, enduro, and single-track riding.



The bike was already well equipped with bark busters, rear strap, and Acerbis fenders. Took it for two trips before I dug into the rebuild/trail setup. During the first two trips I discovered an oil leak in the forks and the engine consuming/burning oil. Which will be addressed in this rebuild.


Projects:

-CRF250X Engine Rebuild


Completed:

-Change out rear shock based on RaceTech spring calculator (5.7kg for me)

-Transfer Rekluse Z-Start pro clutch from CRF250R, add new friction and metal plates

-Transfer Acerbis kid plate from CRF250R

-Rebuild front fork seals, bushings, and oil -New rear rim (current rim was damaged and spoke holes had widened)

-Change from sprocket to 12t or 13t from 14t

-Rebuild Carburetor and tune in accel pump

-Swap tires to more aggressive, street legal tread






200 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page